Hey, first blog

Welcome to my blog about building a small scale Tank .. yes, a two-tracked vehicle that can go over diverse terrain.  This will of course be driven by my son as soon as he’s old enough.  He is 3 months now, so I figured I have 2-3 years to finish it, of course much of that time will be used to test, change, test, repeat.  This blog will track my progress.

I’m choosing to use a track/drive system similar to a Sherman Tank.   It will be powered by two electric motors, one for each side, with independent forward and reverse.  I am still undecided on if it will be purely electric, or hybrid electric, which will be determined later as needed.

I am starting the blog today, but the planning of building the tank has already been in the works, and I have collected some crucial parts, which I will get into soon!

For now, I’ll leave you with a few teaser pics..   Till next time!

3d rendering done with Blender3d

Rendering of the drive system as currently envisioned

3 Comments

  1. Looks like you got a pretty good start on it. Truman will surely dig it the most.

  2. WOW Travis! What an awesome project! Truman is going to love it! You are such a nerd! I can’t wait to see the finished project!

  3. Excellent work. I’ve been tossing around the idea of putting tracks on a power wheels jeep for snow driving. Your creativity is giving me inspiration. I’ll be watching this!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

