Chassis is rollin

I finally hit the big rolling chassis milestone I have been talking about for so long.  Everything seems to be really sturdy, the suspension seems to work better than planned.  I am kinda surprised actually how well it has turned out.  I even wrapped the conveyor belt around it, which I am making the track out of, and it fit perfectly.. yet another surprise.

Here  you can see the pieces I cut, starting to make the track pads.  They are 1/2″ UHMW.  I am cutting strips 1.75″ wide, and then will cut them to 7.5″ long.  They will then be shaped on the ends to fit in the drive sprockets, and then attached to the conveyor belt.

Making the tracks will be very labor intensive, but I’ll do a few posts tracking my progress (pun intended).  By current estimations, I have to make: 92 track pads, 92 track blocks (which go on the inside of the track), and then figure out how to connect the 2 ends of the track together.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

