More wiring

There was one issue with my wiring design.  The DPDT relay only had Forward or Reverse, it doesn’t have an “off” condition like the DPDT switch does.  To handle this, I had to install a normal automotive type relay before the other relay.  This new relay defaults to off, then when the switch is on in either direction, it allows the main current to flow to the DPDT relay.    I wired everything up to the scooter, and was able to switch the direction of one of the wheels, which was a fairly big milestone.

Here is my mess of wires while I was wiring it all up:

And here is the updated wiring diagram, which I tried to incorporate a few actual electrical symbols.  Note that this is only for one side… each side will have this same wiring for me to control each motor separately:

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

